Creamy Rhubarb Cocktail

Shake your groove thing.

I’m a fan of the creamy cocktail. Perhaps they remind me of the Kahlua and milk I used to drink so avidly as a teenager. Or the creamy choco-tinis I graduated onto a little later. I think drinking alcohol disguised as dessert just makes me feel young again. Really young.

A few things have changed. These days I’m a bit of a one cream-laden cocktail girl. I strongly believe that if you are going to get queasy from drinking, it shouldn’t have anything to do with excess lactose consumption. Also, I’m not opposed to a little extra vodka — a drink should definitely taste like a drink.

These beauties are a particularly pleasing shade of pastel pink… perfection.

Adapted from Jamie Oliver    
Ingredients

  • 500 grams (1 pound) rhubarb, trimmed and chopped
  • 100 grams (3.5 ounces) white sugar
  • Juice from ½ an orange
  • 2 shots vodka
  • ½ shot Galliano
  • ½ shot heavy cream
  • ½ milk
  • Handful of ice cubes

Instructions

  1. Combine the rhubarb, sugar and orange juice in a small pan and simmer, with the lid on, for about 5 minutes. Remove the lid and simmer some more until you get a thick consistency.
  2. Transfer the rhubarb to a sieve placed over a bowl and drain. For the cocktail you want the juice, but you can save the pulp to eat with your morning yogurt.
  3. Put the vodka, Galliano, cream, milk, ice and two shots of the rhubarb liquid into a cocktail shaker. Strain into 2 cocktail glasses.

This entry was posted in Drinks, Rhubarb and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Creamy Rhubarb Cocktail

  1. Brilliant! Although, sometimes if I forget to shave, I do look like that little guy in the picture.

  2. polwig says:

    I love rhubarb and of course vodka, sounds like a perfect summer sipper.

Leave a Reply

