Raspberry Oatmeal Muffins

Let the jackalope bring the muffins -- it's totally his thing.

Back when I lived in Vancouver I used to go to Capers on the weekend and get a delicious raspberry oatmeal muffin. Now I have to bake them myself, without a recipe. Yesterday I got them pretty close to the originals, so I’ll post that recipe.

I was supposed to do a picture of a jackalope for the daily animal doodle, hence the picture. I bet you didn’t know that if you invite a jackalope to a party he will always show up with a jaunty bow tie and a plate of muffins. Now you do.

Also, I just got a new camera for my birthday. I’m trying to test it out. The muffins that the jackalope is holding were photographed by me. And then messed with to look grainy and green. So I’ve posted the original photo below. As you can see, I have a ways to go with my food styling. And I better get ironing my tablecloth. But they are in focus. That has to count for something.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup yogurt or buttermilk
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • ¼ cup melted butter
  • 1 egg beaten
  • Milk as necessary
  • 1 cup raspberries (frozen are fine)

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 200℃ (400℉)
  2. Mix the oats with the yogurt and allow to stand and soften.
  3. In another blow, mix together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, sugar and cinnamon.
  4. Add butter, egg and vanilla to the oat mixture and combine well. Mix in the flour and stir until mixed, add milk if more liquid is needed.
  5. Fold in the raspberries.
  6. Fill muffin tins ¾ full and bake for 15-22 minutes.

 

 

My first food photography

 

This entry was posted in Brunch, Muffins, Raspberries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Raspberry Oatmeal Muffins

  1. Those look great. Whenever I suggest buttermilk, people always ask what to use instead and I give the sour milk trick. Is yogurt pretty interchangable?

  2. Delishhh says:

    I am going to save this recipe – this is my type of muffin – very nice!

  3. deer donna says:

    heck yeah!! jackalope! love him xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

