Lemon Poppyseed Loaf

What a deer little loaf!

I’m sitting in my living room craving cake. This does not necessarily give me the energy to bake a cake. Instead I’m looking back at recipes I’ve made in the past and deciding what to bake this weekend. It seems like a rather twee pastime, cuddled up on the couch under a blanket, cup of tea next to me, cookbooks at my feet and in my lap. Except that my husband is watching Eastbound and Down, so my relaxation is punctuated by a flood of profanity and DMX. I kind of like it.

Lately I’ve been loving lemony desserts. Lemon tarts are excellent. Lemon pudding too.  But I think when the weekend rolls around it’s going to be this cake… for breakfast anyways (what’s wrong with a two-cake weekend?).

Maybe I’ll make it while listening to this.

Adapted from The Lazy Gourmet

Ingredients

  • 2 ¼ cups all purpose flour
  • ½ tablespoon baking powder
  • ¾ cup butter, softened
  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 ½ tablespoons lemon zest
  • ¼ cup poppyseeds
  • 1 cup milk
  • 6 tablespoons honey
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice

Instructions

  1. Heat the oven to 175℃ (350℉). Grease a 23 x 12.5 centimetre (9 x 5 inch) loaf pan with butter.
  2. Combine the flour and baking powder in a bowl and set aside.
  3. Cream the butter and 1 ½ cups of sugar together in a large bowl, adding the eggs one at a time and beating well until blended. Add the zest and the poppyseeds.
  4. Add the milk, alternating with the flour, to the butter mixture, blending until smooth.
  5. Pour the batter into the pan and bake for one hour, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
  6. While the loaf is baking, combine the honey, ½ cup of sugar and lemon juice.
  7. Remove the loaf from the pan, allow to cool for 5 minutes and then drizzle with the honey glaze. Serve warm or at room temperature.

 

This entry was posted in Cakes, Lemons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Poppyseed Loaf

  1. JasmyneTea says:

    Hi! I love your blog, and I love your pictures.
    This loaf would be a delicious way to introduce lemon into my diet – citrus is still effective in fighting colds when it’s in a cake, right? 🙂

  2. haha! good song choice
    i love lemon and it’s perfect for summer!
    this loaf sounds yummmmmy!

Leave a Reply

