White Trash Casserole

Trashing it up!

This casserole is a staple at my friend Mike’s annual Christmas brunch. It’s a champagne fueled affair at which the on-going gag is Mike pretending to take a champagne cork in the eye every time a new bottle is opened. The joke is so old that a couple of years ago some of the guests actually came with eye patches, surprising the host by putting them on as he was faking yet another lost eyeball. Being one of the most gullible people alive I’m not a huge fan of the joke. After several years my heart still pounds every time I hear a scream of agony following the pop of a cork.

While it’s far from Christmas, it is getting close to the Australian Christmas in July tradition. I’m not sure if I can find half of the ingredients here, but on the bright side, everything in this casserole is so processed I could probably have them shipped to me without any spoilage!

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 package (500 gram/ 1 pound) frozen hashbrowns
  • 1 pint sour cream
  • 1½ cans condensed cream of mushroom soup
  • 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • A dash or three of hot sauce
  • ¼ cup butter
  • Lots of crushed Ritz crackers

Instructions

  1. Heat the oven to 175℃ (350℉).
  2. Grease a casserole dish.
  3. Cook the onion over medium heat until soft.
  4. In a large bowl, combine the onion, hash browns, sour cream, soup, cheese and hot sauce. Mix well.
  5. Bake for 50 minutes.
  6. While the casserole is baking, melt the butter in a pan and stir in the crackers to coat. Sprinkle over the casserole and bake for an additional 30 minutes.

This entry was posted in Cheddar, Party Food, Sour Cream and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to White Trash Casserole

  1. deer donna says:

    mwahaha that picture is classic! LOVE IT!

  2. twirlingbetty says:

    I wish that casserole sounded disgusting to me, but it doesn’t. It makes me hungry. And a little bit scared for my heart. I’ve decided to have Christmas in July this year for the first time. Can’t wait to hop on that early eggnog train.

  3. Andrea says:

    This picture is awesome! Love it!

Leave a Reply

