Coconut, Pecan and Oatmeal Cookies

A healthy diet is all about balance.

In the old, blue binder full of recipes owned by my mother and painted in white-out hearts by either me or my sister (who can remember such things?) there is a treasure trove of old recipes. Well, sort of. Actually, a lot of the recipes seem to have been cut out of the Vancouver Sun, circa 1992, and rely heavily on sun-dried tomatoes. And I never quite realised the depths of my mother’s obsession with meringue. If it had meringue in the title, she cut it out of the newspaper and sandwiched it in a plastic sleeve.

Still, there are some goodies. Not so strangely to me, most of the family ‘heirloom’ recipes come in the dessert section. A sweet tooth is obviously genetic. I’m partial to oatmeal cookies and these ones are very good. I love the pecan and coconut and oat combination. I haven’t really toyed with the recipe, but I think I might take out a cup or so of sugar the next time I bake these, and see what it does to the texture. My tooth could use a little less sweet. Update to follow.

Ingredients

  • 1-1/4 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1-1/2 cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2-1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • 1 cup shredded coconut

 

Instructions

  1. Heat the oven to 190°C (375°F).
  2. Sift together flour, salt, baking powder and soda.
  3. Cream the butter with an electric mixer. Gradually add the white sugar, brown sugar and eggs. Mix into the dry ingredients.
  4. Stir in oatmeal, nuts and coconut.
  5. Drop teaspoon-sized balls of dough onto greased baking sheets and bake for 12-15 minutes, until golden brown.

This entry was posted in Cookies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coconut, Pecan and Oatmeal Cookies

  1. That’s a cute observation about your mum and meringue. The cookies sound delicious!

  2. Those do sound great. And we have the same sort of book my mom sent off to college with me. An old journal really. My wife and I add to it and it’s sort of a journal of our own personal food trends. The other day she said, wow you have a lot of cauliflower recipes from your mom. Never use those, Katherine hates the stuff.

Leave a Reply

