Mint Lemonade

Not too sweet and not too tart

Whenever I have a terrible hangover, like today for example, I obsess about lemonade. Perfectly cold, not too sweet and not too tart. I could drink gallons of the stuff. This hardly requires a recipe but I’ve written one anyways. For a stronger mint flavour you could muddle the mint a little with a mortar and pestle before adding it to the lemonade. Personally I think it is perfect the way it is.

Ingredients

  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 6 cups water
  • 2 cups freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 1 cup mint leaves

Instructions

  1. Make a simple syrup by combining the sugar with 2 cups of water and bringing to a boil until dissolved.
  2. Combine the remaining water with the lemon juice in a large pitcher. Gradually stir in the simple syrup, a little at a time, until your desired sweetness is reached.
  3. Stir in mint and refrigerate for at least an hour to allow the flavours mix.
  4. Serve on ice (with or without vodka!).

 

This entry was posted in Drinks, Fresh Herbs, Lemons and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mint Lemonade

  1. I added a couple bags of peppermint tea to the suntea jar today. After reading this recipe of yours, I’m tempted to make a run to the grocery just to pick up some lemons!
    Looks awesome 🙂

  2. Too funny, we just made a mint limeade this weekend. We didn’t use this much mint. I bet yours is phenomenal. My wife likes to freeze ice cubes with mint leaves in them, that really ups the mint too.Just have to drink it before they melt though.

  3. twirlingbetty says:

    I obsess about icy cold lemonade (or lemon cordial as we call it here in Oz) when I’m hungover too. Crave it. As I lie in bed with my mouth as dry as a chip I think about a tall glass of sweet/tart lemonade, so cold, droplets of water are dripping down the sides of the glass. Look forward to trying your version with the mint on my next morning after the night before.
    PS: I love your pics so much. You really should do a recipe book accompanied by these.

Leave a Reply

