Roasted Broccoli with Garlic

Contemplating broccoli

Lately we’ve been getting a lot of broccoli in our veggie box. This is great, I love broccoli, but I rarely get very creative with it. It usually ends up stir-fried or steamed and drenched in butter. Recently I have been trying to land on a perfect recipe for broccoli soup, but the results have been mediocre at best (please let me know if you have one, I’d love to try it!). What I did find in the process is this lovely method of roasting broccoli. I’ve roasted a ton of cauliflower in my life, but for some reason I had never tried broccoli. I guess I always thought it would burn badly, or at least turn to pap in the oven. I couldn’t have been more wrong, it takes on an excellent crispy texture. I can’t believe what I’ve been missing!

serves 4-6
Ingredients

  • 1/2 kilograms (1-1/4 pounds) broccoli, cut into florets, about 8 cups
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced

Instructions

  • Heat the oven to 230°C (450°F).
  • Toss the broccoli with most of the oil, reserving about 1/2 a tablespoon. Sprinkle with salt and pepper and spread out on a rimmed baking sheet or roasting pan.
  • Roast for 15 minutes.
  • Mix the minced garlic with the remaining oil. Remove the broccoli from the oven and drizzle the oil/garlic mixture on top. Return to the oven and roast for another 5-10 minutes, until it begins to brown.
  • Season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Broccoli and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Roasted Broccoli with Garlic

  1. cerawen says:

    i also recently learned of roasting broccoli – my friend brought this simple dish to a potluck: roasted broccoli, garlic and whole almonds, roasted all together – it was fantastic!

  2. bluebee says:

    I have never thought of roasting broccoli either – we generally have it steamed which is not the most appetizing of experiences, so will definitely try your recipe – thx. I have always hated Brussels sprouts but recently came across a recipe by Neil Perry where he recommends roasting them with a little olive oil and salt and they are absolutely delicious done this way.

  3. bluebee says:

    I made this last night with broccolini and it was quite delicious – the roasting morphs the flavour into something nuttier and sweeter – will never steam it again 🙂

Leave a Reply

