Nigel Slater’s Hot Cheese Muffins

Nice muffins, Daryl!

I’m gearing up to go on holiday, so all of my willpower and resolve has flown out the window. Tonight I was going to go to the gym, but ended up wandering around the mall looking for an anniversary present for my husband. Then, unsuccessful in my efforts, meeting my co-workers for a beer. I’ve been lazy in updating my blog, and even lazier in my cooking. Nigel Slater’s hot cheese muffins are the perfect thing to come home to, exhausted from work and shopping and beer and devoid of any self control whatsoever. Delish!

By the way, this pig’s name is Daryl. Which is even better than cheese covered muffins.

Adapted from Nigel Slater’s Real Fast Food  
Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 spring onions, white parts only, thinly sliced
  • 1½ cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 hot, toasted English muffins, split

Instructions

  1. Melt the butter in a pan over medium heat. Cook the onions for a few minutes until soft and golden. Stir in the cheese until it is melted and slide the whole mixture onto hot toasted muffins.

This entry was posted in Bread, Cheddar, Sandwiches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Nigel Slater’s Hot Cheese Muffins

  1. Isn’t Nigel Slater just the best – “Real Fast Food” is always at hand in my kitchen, right next to “Real Fast Puddings”. Good choice of muffin,

  2. deer donna says:

    daryl is the cutest piggy ever!! hahahah love it! and yummmm cheese is my favorite thing right now, which is odd because i never used to like it!

  3. Have a great holiday and a great anniversary!

Leave a Reply

